Buzz Buzz

There’s a lot of buzz going around about the new budget cuts for the education programs in Seoul and more specifically about the positions for Native English Teachers (NET) in Korea. There are a lot of arguments being made between the NETs and Korean teachers about the pros/cons of having a foreign teacher in the public schools here. I wanted to add links to blogs that talk about the issue in case my fellow teachers or anyone interested in teaching for EPIK/SMOE was interested.

Blog Entry #1 from http://briandeutsch.blogspot.com

Blog Entry #2 from http://www.rjkoehler.com

Blog Entry #2 form http://www.alienteachers.com

English News Article from http://english.chosun.com

The gist is that the South Korean government plans to slowly weed out the NET positions from the Korean public school system starting next year and completely by 2014. Needless to say, many NETs in my program are very worried about the future of their own positions. With that said, I am extremely annoyed at some of the NETs freaking out and ranting all over facebook/forums/blogs. Personally, I don’t think South Korea owes you anything and that we are well aware that a job overseas like this one is pretty much going to be a year to year (at best) type of life style. I have had enough first hand experiences, like many other teachers, to know that things happen and decisions are made without much notice or with very little explanation in Korea. When I read the articles a few days ago, I was pretty much like okay, it’s happening and it’s time to look for other opportunities. I was really surprised at the outcry and well … all the bitching that a good amount of NETs were having online. Is this a nice job to have? Well, yes. Was it a job that came with a long term opportunity and security? No. Never have and it never will.

Do what you can now and prepare what you can for tomorrow. Good luck everyone! Lucky for me, I made a decision to leave after my current contract and so the idea of being boosted out of my job in Korea hasn’t really weighed heavily on my mind. There’s always something else. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Buzz Buzz

  1. You might get paid more, but the hours are horrid and the job is really unreliable. I’m sure I’m biased though, since I work for a public school. There is one thing that we have that is better than the hagwons — more vacation days!

Leave a Reply

