2012: Year of the Dragon (recaps and whatnots)

The past two years were really great for me.

2010 was a year of a lot of big changes in my life. I finally graduated college (Go Dawgs!!) that May and I was accepted to SMOE for a year contract that following August. It was probably one of the most self fulfilling times of my life. I worried a lot, but at the end of the day, I achieved everything I wanted and was able to start a completely different life outside of Georgia.

2011 was a good year because I wasn’t adjusting to my life abroad anymore, I was really living it. 2011 is when I traveled to 5 countries (something I always wanted to do) and I was so proud to have done it all with the earnings I’ve made on my own. I also really felt like I learned to be more self-efficient by living on my own. I learned to be less embarrassed to ask for help or for more information and to be happy with doing things for myself and by myself. I’ve definitely made some great friends along the way and some greater memories with them. Another thing that I learned while living abroad is that there so many different types of people in this world. I don’t think I ever realized how diverse people’s personalities could be. I’m still boggled by it from time to time. Haha.

There’s a lot of uncertainty for 2012. My second contract ends this August and it’s starting to bother me that I don’t really have a 5 year plan. I loved that I was just living my life out here and everything was so new, but after 2 years of living in Korea, I know I’m ready to move on. However, move on to where? My thoughts go in circles and I get extremely frustrated. I don’t know what I want to do with my life and I really want to find something long term. Ahhhhh…. I hate uncertainty.

2012 will be a telling year for me. I just hope I have the courage to pursue what I want and the push to not just find something for the next year, but a stepping stone to something greater.

One thought on “2012: Year of the Dragon (recaps and whatnots)

Leave a Reply

