Travels: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: Central Market + White Coffee

Ahhhh, Central Market! This is probably the best place to buy souvenirs if you ask me. It’s not too busy, you can still haggle, and you can just roam around in an air conditioned building until you find what you are looking for. I always buy magnets to send home to my mom to let her know where I’ve traveled. I found the best prices for magnets here. Sounds nerd, I know. Hahaha.

Central Market is the blue building you see in the picture. I wish I got a better picture of it, but I must have been brain dead on the last day of our trip because I hardly took pictures of anything. We went through the Kasturi walk to visit the vendors outside. There are kiosks of souvenirs and fruit/food stands everywhere.

Fruit stands just like this one! I almost had a heart attack when I saw that they were selling mangosteens (which aren’t in season). I obviously had to buy some! Mangosteens are the fruit in purple. ㅋㅋ

For 5usd you can get you feet nibbled on by fish to exfoliate your skin as well. Ew. They actually have this in Korea as well. I should do a review on them later. This is VD who decided to do this by the way.

After shopping a bit, we decided we had some spare time to have a cup of coffee. Malaysia is known for their white coffee! It was really good. Yummm.

We sat down at this chain restaurant/coffee shop called Old Town White Coffee. I got a little plate of curry and bread as a snack as well.

On our way out we saw that they were having some sort of skateboarding show. It was a nice way to end our trip to see these young Malaysian kids running around on their skateboards and hanging out with their friends. Life goes on everywhere! Haha

TIP: You should really try to save all your souvenir shopping until you visit Central Market when it comes to the stereotypical purchases like key chains and magnets.

FYI: Hope you brought some change because you need it in order to use the bathroom in the building.

**This blog post is part of my 2week trip to Malaysia/Cambodia/Vietnam. Click on the link to see what else I’ve done! https://stellaface.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/travels-malaysia-cambodia-and-vietnam/

Leave a Reply

