Halfway Home

Monsoon season officially hit Korea this past week! It has been raining non-stop for the past couple of days. Investing in some rubber rainboots might be a good choice, but of course, I still haven’t gotten around to purchasing any… for the past 2 years. Haha.

Today marks the halfway point from my 100 day countdown. Day #50 just started, but already there’s so much going on from walking to school in the pouring rain, getting a free hot potato, and office drama. I don’t mind being at school sometimes because it’s just full of things/events/people to observe. I always feel like I’m walking around in bubble. I’m here, but not really here. I just kind of blend in to the walls. Which, by all means, I enjoy! I don’t think I will ever find another job quite like the one I have now. I can choose when to participate and when to disappear. Most of the time, I’m in my own world and occasionally I have to remember to look up in order to keep appearances.

I don’t feel any particular sadness about my contract coming to an end. I was a lot more nervous about my future and where I wanted to take my career this past March, but I’ve learned to throw those feelings aside. Why fret about something you don’t have the answers to. If I’ve learned anything the past 26 years of my life, it’s that the world kind of acts in its own accord. There are times when you should take charge and try to steer your life in a certain direction. Then, there are other times where you should just ride the whip. Put yourself on cruise control and enjoy the scenery. That’s exactly what I am looking forward to do — cruise.

I’m going to relish my transition into (f)unemployment. 🙂

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

